nomadr
Go Back

Schools & Education in Panama City

Good to Know

  • Panama's currency (the Balboa) is pegged 1:1 to the US dollar and USD bills are used as everyday cash, so local-currency and USD tuition amounts are the same number.
  • Beyond the quoted annual tuition, most established international schools (ISP, King's College, Balboa Academy) charge a substantial one-time 'capital donation' or 'admission fee' on first enrollment, often in the range of USD 8,000–16,000 — budget for this separately from ongoing tuition.
  • Many international schools bill quarterly or termly on an August–June academic year, which differs from Panama's public-school calendar (March–December) — relevant if you're moving mid-year.
  • Students transferring from schools abroad generally need MEDUCA (Ministry of Education) validation of prior grades within about six months of enrollment, per requirements listed by ISP.
  • Not all schools publish tuition online (e.g. Casco School, Boston School International, Lycée Français Paul Gauguin, several smaller bilingual schools) — contacting admissions directly is usually necessary to get current pricing.
  • For the well-known international schools, plan to start contacting admissions 6–12 months before your intended start date — popular grade levels fill up, and rolling admissions doesn't mean 'apply any time and get in immediately.'
  • Once you get an offer, act fast: some schools only hold your child's seat for about 10 calendar days after the offer before it can be reassigned, so have deposit funds ready before you apply.
  • If your child is transferring into 2nd grade or higher from a school abroad, budget time and a bit of bureaucracy for the mandatory MEDUCA grade-validation process (apostille + Panamanian Ministry of Foreign Affairs legalization), which must be completed within 6 months of enrollment — this applies regardless of which school you choose.
  • Homeschooling is fully legal in Panama since Law 245 (2021), but you're expected to notify MEDUCA; many expat families additionally register with a foreign accredited umbrella school for transcripts, since Panama's government has so far accepted apostilled umbrella-school records.
  • Don't expect a formal drop-in homeschool center in Panama City — local homeschool support runs mainly through Facebook/WhatsApp parent groups and umbrella-school administrator networks rather than a physical co-op campus.

Schools And Curricula

Currency Context
Panama's official currency is the Balboa (PAB), which is fixed 1:1 to the US dollar by law, and US dollar bills circulate interchangeably as everyday cash. Local (PAB) and USD tuition figures below are therefore numerically identical.

Schools

  • International School of Panama (ISP)
    Location
    San Miguelito District, Panama City
    Age Range
    PK3 to Grade 12 (ages 3–18)
    Notes
    Nonprofit, founded 1982, MEDUCA-affiliated, IB World School accredited by Cognia; ~10-hectare campus.
    One Time Fees Note
    New students also pay a registration fee plus a one-time capital contribution historically structured as installments (e.g. two payments of USD 8,000 for PK3 institutional families); total first-year cost with one-time fees has been quoted around PAB/USD 26,195 for a 3-year-old.

    Curricula

    • IB Diploma Programme
    • American Curriculum (AP-track)
    • Bespoke ISP curriculum framework

    Annual Tuition Examples

    • PK3
      PK3
      PAB 10,004
    • PK4–Grade 5
      PK4–Grade 5
      PAB 15,276
    • Grades 6–8
      Grades 6–8
      PAB 16,756
    • Grades 9–12
      Grades 9–12
      PAB 18,948
  • Metropolitan School of Panama (MET Panama, Part of Nord Anglia Education)
    Location
    Green Valley, Panama Norte, Panama City
    Age Range
    3–18
    Notes
    Fees rise with grade level; upper-grade tuition ceiling not published. IB World School accredited by IBO, plus MEDUCA and NEASC accreditation.

    Curricula

    • Full IB continuum: PYP, MYP, Diploma Programme, in English

    Annual Tuition Examples

    • Entry level, from
      Entry Level, From
      PAB 11,247
  • King's College, The British School of Panama (KCSP)
    Location
    Clayton, Panama City (new campus since 2023)
    Age Range
    2–18
    Notes
    First British-curriculum school in Panama, established 2012.
    One Time Fees Note
    One-time entrance fee: Plan A USD 1,000 or Plan B USD 12,000 (buy-down of ongoing fees); 15% sibling discount for a third child.

    Curricula

    • UK National Curriculum
    • Cambridge IGCSE (Years 10–11)
    • IB Diploma Programme (sixth form)

    Annual Tuition Examples

    • Nursery, from
      Nursery, From
      PAB 7,966
    • Senior years, up to approx.
      Senior Years, Up To Approx.
      PAB 20,014
  • Balboa Academy
    Location
    Ciudad del Saber, Clayton, Panama City
    Age Range
    Approx. 3–18
    Notes
    Part of the global 'Inspired' schools group; founded 1999.
    One Time Fees Note
    Application/evaluation fee USD 150; one-time admission fee USD 12,000; annual registration fee USD 1,077 (PK) or USD 1,899 (K–12). Figures are for 2026/27, non-sponsored students; employer-sponsored student rates run somewhat higher.

    Curricula

    • US standards-based American curriculum
    • Advanced Placement (19 AP + 4 Pre-AP courses)
    • Dual US and Panamanian (Bachiller en Ciencias y Letras) diploma

    Annual Tuition Examples

    • PK3 & PK4
      PK3 & PK4
      PAB 7,966
    • Kindergarten
      Kindergarten
      PAB 12,541
    • Grades 1–5
      Grades 1–5
      PAB 12,665
    • Grades 6–12
      Grades 6–12
      PAB 14,006
  • Casco School
    Location
    Two campuses: Albrook and Costa del Este, Panama City
    Age Range
    2–18
    Notes
    Founded 2018.
    Tuition Note
    School-specific published tuition not located; aggregator data cites a Panama City IB-category average fee of around USD 13,298/year, but that is a market-wide average, not a Casco-specific figure.

    Curricula

    • British curriculum foundation (EYFS + National Curriculum of England & Wales)
    • Cambridge IGCSE (Years 10–11)
    • IB Diploma Programme
    • Bespoke bilingual English–Spanish curriculum
  • Boston School International (BSI)
    Location
    Costa del Este, Panama City
    Age Range
    3–18
    Tuition Note
    Fees not publicly disclosed by the school.

    Curricula

    • IB World School — full PYP, MYP, and Diploma Programme continuum
    • English, Spanish, and Mandarin instruction
  • SABIS International School – Costa Verde
    Location
    Costa Verde, Panama City
    Tuition Note
    Tuition not found in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • SABIS international curriculum, English-medium
  • Lycée Français Paul Gauguin
    Location
    Panama Pacífico, Panama City
    Tuition Note
    Tuition not found in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • French national curriculum, trilingual French/Spanish/English instruction
  • United School of Panama
    Location
    Panama City (exact neighborhood unconfirmed)
    Curricula
    Specific curriculum framework not clearly confirmed in sources reviewed.
    Notes
    First-year cost including one-time fees quoted around PAB/USD 19,075 for a 4-year-old.

    Annual Tuition Examples

    • K2
      K2
      PAB 8,600
    • Upper grades, up to approx.
      Upper Grades, Up To Approx.
      PAB 20,472
  • Knightsbridge Schools International Panama
    Location
    Panama Pacífico, Panama City
    Tuition Note
    Tuition not found in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • IB World School
  • American School International
    Location
    Costa Verde area, Panama City
    Curricula
    Described as a full English-medium school; specific curriculum framework (American/IB/other) not clearly confirmed.
    Tuition Note
    Tuition not found in sources reviewed.
  • DS International School
    Location
    El Cangrejo, Panama City
    Notes
    Also has a separate campus in David, Chiriquí (outside Panama City).
    Tuition Note
    Tuition not found in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • Bilingual English–Spanish
    • Home-school option available
  • SCALA International School
    Location
    Brisas del Golf, Panama City
    Curricula
    Not clearly confirmed in sources reviewed.
    Tuition Note
    Tuition not found in sources reviewed.
  • St. George International School
    Location
    Brisas del Golf, Panama City
    Curricula
    Not clearly confirmed; school only offers instruction through 6th grade.
    Tuition Note
    Tuition not found in sources reviewed.
  • Crossroads Christian School
    Location
    Clayton, Panama City
    Curricula
    Christian school; specific curriculum framework not clearly confirmed in sources reviewed.
    Tuition Note
    Tuition not found in sources reviewed.
  • St. Mary School
    Location
    Panama City
    Tuition Note
    School-specific tuition not located; a general market estimate for foreigner-friendly bilingual private primary schools in Panama runs around USD 500/month per child, though this is a broad average, not a St. Mary-specific figure.

    Curricula

    • Private Catholic school
    • International academic calendar
    • Bilingual, with emphasis on English proficiency
  • Oxford School
    Location
    Panama City (exact neighborhood unconfirmed)
    Curricula
    General Pre-Kinder to Grade 12 program; specific curriculum framework (IB/American/British) not clearly confirmed in sources reviewed.
    Tuition Note
    Fees not publicly disclosed.

Homeschooling

Legal Basis
Homeschooling ('educación en casa') is legal nationwide in Panama, including Panama City, under Law 245, passed by the National Assembly in 2021, which recognizes home education as a legal exemption from the compulsory school-attendance requirement.
Legal Status
Fully legal and regulated
Official Data Gap
As of mid-2025 Panamanian media reporting noted the country still has no official government-published statistics on how many families actually homeschool, so it is not possible to give a reliable enrolled-homeschooler count for Panama City specifically.
Regulatory Requirements
The law requires parents to notify the Ministry of Education (MEDUCA) that they are homeschooling, and provides for optional annual academic evaluations, with training offered particularly to parents who hold a university degree.
Umbrella School Cost Example
PAB 275

Annual fee for a Panama-based family to enroll a child (preschool through 12th grade) with the Homelife Academy umbrella school via its Panama-based local administrator group

Practical Route Used By Expat Families
In practice many homeschooling families in Panama — including expats — enroll with a foreign (typically U.S.-based) accredited 'umbrella school' such as Homelife Academy for record-keeping, grading and transcript continuity, since MEDUCA has to date accepted apostilled transcripts from such umbrella schools for students who later re-enter the Panamanian system or apply to university, given Panama is a signatory to the 1961 Hague Apostille Convention.

Local Community

Caveat
These are peer-support/admin groups and informal parent networks rather than a licensed co-op school with its own physical campus; no evidence was found of a formal drop-in homeschool co-op facility in Panama City itself.
Exists
Yes
Description
There is a documented, Panama-specific homeschooling community rather than just informal chatter: a dedicated Panama-based support group (HomeschoolingForever) acts as the local administrator for families using the Homelife Academy umbrella school, and a Panama-specific resource page maintained by Latina Homeschooler collects the relevant Panamanian education-law documents for local families. Panamanian press coverage also describes homeschool parents in the country organizing informally via Facebook and WhatsApp groups for peer support, field trips, and shared resources rather than through a single formal in-person co-op building.

International Bilingual School Enrollment

Overview
Panama City's main international/bilingual schools (International School of Panama, Boston School International, Metropolitan School of Panama/Nord Anglia, Colegio Alemán del Istmo, King's College-affiliated schools, etc.) generally run rolling admissions rather than a single once-a-year cutoff, since a large share of applicants are expat families transferring mid-year.
Waitlist Reality
Schools are explicit that holding a space is time-limited once an offer is made: at ISP, an admissions offer is valid for one school year and automatically reserves the seat for only 10 calendar days while the family arranges payment, after which the spot is no longer guaranteed. Schools also state clearly that having an open seat in the desired grade does not guarantee admission — an Enrollment Committee still has to approve the specific applicant, and paying the application fee does not itself secure a place.
Recommended Timing
Panama-focused relocation guides recommend starting the school search well before arrival: "We recommend starting the contact and application process at least 6 to 12 months before your desired school start date to secure a place." Demand is described as highest for certain grade levels at the top-tier schools.
Age Cutoffs Example
As one concrete example (ISP), age-based placement cutoffs for early grades are: three years old before July 31 for Pre-K3, four before July 31 for Pre-K4, and five before July 31 for Kindergarten, with grade 1 and above placed according to completed prior schooling.
How Rolling Admissions Works
At schools like the International School of Panama (ISP), the Enrollment Committee meets on a monthly cycle and publishes a schedule showing which application-completion date maps to which decision month, and the school states this rolling model exists specifically to accommodate families relocating from abroad at different points in the year.
Meduca Validation Note
This applies to any school in Panama, not just international ones: to enroll in any Panamanian school, students transferring from abroad into 2nd grade or higher must complete the MEDUCA validation of their prior coursework, and this must be submitted within six calendar months of enrollment.

Required Documents

  • Completed application form (citizenship, languages spoken, current school, household demographics)
  • Previous school records / transcripts
  • Teacher recommendation form
  • Educational testing results, learning diagnosis, or IEP/accommodation paperwork if applicable
  • Birth certificate and passport copies
  • For students entering 2nd grade or above who are transferring from a foreign school system: a MEDUCA (Ministry of Education) 'convalidation'/validation of prior grades, which is a Panamanian government requirement, not a school-specific one
  • For the MEDUCA validation, foreign academic documents typically need an apostille from the country of origin (or certification via a Panamanian consulate) and then legalization in Panama at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Typical Process Steps

  • Inquiry / campus visit request
  • Submission of online application with citizenship, language, current school and household details
  • Academic placement testing in math and English (standard at most schools) plus, at some schools, a grade-specific 'shadow day' style visit
  • Family interview with school leadership to check fit with the school's philosophy and community
  • Homeroom teacher recommendation form from the student's current school (submitted electronically)
  • Admissions decision issued via an online portal
  • Offer acceptance and deposit/tuition payment
  • Signing of enrollment contract and completion of an enrollment checklist
AI-generated estimateData refreshed July 2026

This section has no cited sources.

Data last updated July 2026 · Verify anything important.