nomadr
Go Back

Schools & Education in Madrid

This call covers only enrollment/waitlist process for international & bilingual schools plus homeschooling legality and community — not the full School & Education category.

Good to Know

  • The headline 'tuition' figure a school quotes is rarely the full cost — school bus (ruta), lunch (comedor), uniforms, books, trips, and a one-off enrolment/registration fee (typically EUR 1,500-9,000 at admission) are usually billed separately and can add 30% or more to the first-year total.
  • School fees in Spain are generally not deductible from national income tax (IRPF); the Comunidad de Madrid offers only a modest regional tax credit for specific items like uniforms or extracurricular language classes, not general tuition.
  • Many multinational employers in Madrid include an education allowance (commonly EUR 10,000-25,000 per child per year) in relocation packages — worth clarifying before committing to a school, since some pay the school directly and others reimburse per term.
  • Admissions for the following September typically open November-March, with assessments through spring and confirmed offers/reservation fees due around April-June, so nomad families planning a mid-year arrival should contact schools directly about flexibility.
  • Curriculum choice matters for continuity: British-curriculum schools (the most common option in Madrid) lead to IGCSEs/A-Levels, American schools lead to a US High School Diploma (often combined with IB or AP), and a growing number of schools now offer the full IB continuum (PYP-MYP-DP) end to end.
  • If you want real school choice for a September start, begin contacting Madrid international schools 6–12 months ahead — popular schools fill up and waitlist, especially for the most in-demand year groups.
  • Don't wait on your NIE/residence card before applying — most international schools will process your application first and just require the NIE before the child actually starts term.
  • If you're relying on the public or concertado system instead of a private international school, note the application window opens in March and place allocation depends on your registered local address (empadronamiento), not just interest in the school.
  • Homeschooling in Spain (including Madrid) is a genuine legal grey area, not a clearly protected right — it's tolerated in practice for many families but carries a real (if inconsistently enforced) risk of a truancy inquiry, so get local legal advice before withdrawing a child from school, especially if you're in Spain on a visa that may require proof of school enrollment.
  • There is an actual long-standing homeschooling parent community in Madrid, but it's informal (email lists, a community blog, occasional meetups) rather than a structured co-op — useful for peer support, not a substitute for legal advice.

Schools

  • American School of Madrid (ASM)
    Location
    Pozuelo de Alarcón, ~10 km west of Madrid city center
    Age Range
    3–18
    One Time Capital Fee
    €6,000
    Notes
    One of Spain's oldest American schools (~1,050 students, 60+ nationalities); was the first American school in Spain to offer a full IB Diploma Programme. Corporate/employer-paid tuition rates are higher than the private-payer rates shown.

    Curricula

    • American (US High School Diploma)
    • IB Diploma Programme
    • Título de Bachillerato pathway

    Tuition Annual 2025 2026 Private Payer

    Low
    €11,593
    High
    €23,878
    Low Grade Band
    Early Years/K1-K2
    High Grade Band
    Grades 9-12
  • International College Spain (ICS)
    Location
    Madrid area
    Age Range
    Full IB continuum
    Notes
    An IB World School delivering the full IB curriculum in English; over 45 years operating in Madrid. Fees are not consistently published across sources.

    Curricula

    • IB Primary Years Programme
    • IB Middle Years Programme
    • IB Diploma Programme
  • The Global College
    Location
    Central Madrid
    Age Range
    16–18 (sixth-form/pre-university only)
    Notes
    IB boarding and day school for ages 16-18 only, run in partnership with IE University's Center for Entrepreneurship. High end of range includes boarding fees.

    Curricula

    • IB Diploma Programme

    Tuition Annual

    Low
    €20,940
    High With Boarding
    €45,180
  • King's College, The British School of Madrid
    Location
    Soto de Viñuelas / La Moraleja area, north Madrid
    Age Range
    Through age 18
    Notes
    Part of a British-curriculum school cluster in the La Moraleja/Alcobendas area.

    Curricula

    • English National Curriculum
    • IGCSE
    • A-Levels

    Tuition Annual

    Low
    €5,180
    High
    €30,985
  • St. George British School Madrid
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    2–18
    Notes
    Different aggregators quote somewhat different bands (roughly EUR 7,500-18,600 depending on year group and source); treat as an approximate range.

    Curricula

    • English National Curriculum
    • International Primary Curriculum
    • IGCSE
    • A-Levels
    • IB Diploma Programme

    Tuition Annual

    Low
    €8,580
    High
    €18,610
  • Runnymede College
    Location
    North Madrid area
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Like a few other British-curriculum schools in the area, offers A-Levels only as the final leaving qualification (no IB option).

    Curricula

    • English National Curriculum
    • A-Levels (final qualification only)
  • Hastings School
    Location
    East Madrid (group of five campuses for different ages)
    Age Range
    Early years to 18
    Notes
    Sits in the premium tier alongside ASM and The Global College; operates as a group of five linked schools for different age ranges.

    Curricula

    • British curriculum
    • IGCSE
    • A-Levels

    Tuition Annual

    Low
    €14,000
    High
    €26,000
  • International School of Madrid
    Location
    East Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Fees not consistently published across sources.

    Curricula

    • British curriculum
    • A-Levels (final qualification only)
  • St George International
    Location
    East Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Described as one of the newer additions to Madrid's British-curriculum school scene.

    Curricula

    • British curriculum
  • Base International School
    Location
    Two campuses: Chamberí (central Madrid) and La Moraleja, Alcobendas
    Age Range
    1–18
    Notes
    Part of the Affinitas Education network; fees not publicly listed in available sources.

    Curricula

    • IB Middle Years Programme
    • IB Diploma Programme
    • American curriculum
    • British curriculum
  • Liceo Europeo
    Location
    Northwest Madrid
    Age Range
    1–18
    Notes
    Large campus (45,000 m²); part of Inspired Education group; fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • American Program (Early Education)
    • IB Primary Years Programme
    • IB Middle Years Programme
    • IB Diploma Programme
    • National/Spanish Bachillerato
  • Brewster Madrid
    Location
    Chamberí (central Madrid, K1-10) and La Moraleja (K1-11) campuses
    Age Range
    K1 through Grade 12 (via a shared Pre-University Hub)
    Notes
    Around 250 students across 34 nationalities with small average class sizes (~15); fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • American curriculum (NEASC-accredited)
    • IB Diploma Programme (Chamberí is the IB DP site; La Moraleja is an IB DP Candidate School, authorized 2024)
  • Richmond Park School
    Location
    Mirasierra district, Madrid
    Age Range
    Pre-nursery to 18
    Notes
    Fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • British curriculum
    • EYFS
    • Cambridge IGCSE
    • Pearson Edexcel IGCSE
    • Cambridge International AS/A-Levels
    • French curriculum option
  • Mirabal International School
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    Nursery to sixth form (18)
    Notes
    Founded 1982; co-educational, non-religious, over 1,800 students - among the more affordable IB options in Madrid.

    Curricula

    • IB Primary Years Programme
    • IB Middle Years Programme
    • IB Diploma Programme

    Tuition Annual

    Low
    €3,900
    High
    €7,500
  • SEK International School - El Castillo
    Location
    Villafranca del Castillo, outskirts of Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified, full continuum
    Notes
    Part of the SEK Education Group; known for strong STEM programmes.

    Curricula

    • Full IB continuum (PYP, MYP, DP)

    Tuition Annual

    Low
    €8,000
    High
    €15,000
  • SEK International School - Santa Isabel
    Location
    Central Madrid, near Retiro Park
    Age Range
    3–12 (PYP), with further IB pathway
    Notes
    The only SEK campus located centrally in Madrid rather than in the suburbs.

    Curricula

    • IB Primary Years Programme (ages 3-12)
    • International Baccalaureate

    Tuition Annual

    Low
    €8,000
    High
    €14,000
  • SEK International School - Ciudalcampo
    Location
    North Madrid suburb
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    IB World School; large suburban campus; specific fee tier not itemized in available sources beyond general premium-band estimates.

    Curricula

    • International Baccalaureate
  • Brains International School La Moraleja
    Location
    North Madrid (La Moraleja)
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Long-established British-curriculum school with strong exam outcomes; sits in the premium fee tier per aggregator estimates.

    Curricula

    • British curriculum
    • IGCSE
    • A-Levels
  • St. Anne's School
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    1–18
    Notes
    Established 1969; does not make fees public.

    Curricula

    • British curriculum with Spanish subjects
  • English Montessori School
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    1–18
    Notes
    Combines British and Spanish curricula with a Montessori approach.

    Curricula

    • British curriculum
    • Spanish curriculum
    • Montessori method
  • Thames British School
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    1–18
    Notes
    Accredited by Cambridge, NABSS, the Spanish Ministry of Education, and the IB.

    Curricula

    • Cambridge International Programme (IGCSE, A-Levels)
    • IB Diploma Programme
  • Green Stone British International School
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    1–14
    Notes
    Authorised by the British Council and NABSS; pedagogical project designed with Oxford University input.

    Curricula

    • British curriculum
  • Alegra School
    Location
    Madrid suburb
    Age Range
    3–18
    Notes
    British and International school; IB World School for secondary/Baccalaureate stages.

    Curricula

    • English National Curriculum (ages 3-11)
    • IB Middle Years Programme (Secondary)
    • IB Diploma Programme (Baccalaureate)
  • Casvi International American School
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • American curriculum
    • International Baccalaureate
  • Aquinas American School
    Location
    Near downtown Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    English-medium school for local and expatriate students.

    Curricula

    • IB curriculum
  • Colegio Logos
    Location
    Outskirts of Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • IGCSE
    • IB Diploma Programme
  • Colegio Alameda De Osuna
    Location
    Madrid suburb
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • IB Primary Years Programme
    • IB Middle Years Programme
    • IB Diploma Programme
  • Colegio Antamira
    Location
    Suburban Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    English-medium; fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • IB Primary Years Programme
    • IB Middle Years Programme
    • IB Diploma Programme
  • Colegio Arcangel Rafael
    Location
    Outskirts of Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • IB Primary Years Programme
    • IB Middle Years Programme
    • IB Diploma Programme
  • Colegio Montfort
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • National Curriculum for England
  • Colegio Nuestra Señora Del Recuerdo
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    English-medium school; fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • International Baccalaureate
  • Colegio Ramón Y Cajal
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • International Baccalaureate
  • Colegio CEU San Pablo Sanchinarro
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • IB Primary Years Programme
    • IB Middle Years Programme
    • IB Diploma Programme
  • International Scandinavian School of Madrid
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Fees not published in available sources.

    Curricula

    • English National Curriculum combined with Scandinavian education philosophy
  • Lighthouse American School
    Location
    Madrid
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Grouped among Madrid's premium American/British schools (alongside ASM, Hastings, The Global College) in fee-band comparisons; specific published figures not found.

    Curricula

    • American curriculum
  • Agora International School
    Location
    Madrid area
    Age Range
    Not specified
    Notes
    Noted as the one school in its cluster offering the IB Diploma alongside A-Level-focused peers.

    Curricula

    • IB Diploma

Typical Non Tuition Costs

Application Fee
€250

typical low end; ranges roughly EUR 100-400 across schools

IB Diploma Exam Fees Per Student

Low
€600
High
€900

One Time Enrolment Registration Fee Range

Low
€1,500
High
€9,000

Homeschooling

Legal Status
Decriminalized or tolerated
Practical Risk
Families who withdraw children from the school system without any formal step can face an absentismo (truancy) case opened by local social services, which in some instances escalates to the Fiscalía de Menores (minors' prosecutor); outcomes in Spanish courts have been mixed, with some rulings favoring parental choice and others ordering school attendance. Filing a written declaration of home education with the local education authority and keeping curriculum documentation is the harm-reduction step families and advocacy groups recommend to reduce this risk.
Estimated Prevalence
National estimates (cited by groups such as the European Network of Home Education and the Asociación para la Libre Educación, ALE) put the number of homeschooling families in Spain at roughly 2,000 to 4,000, a small fraction of school-age children overall.
Legal Status Explanation
Homeschooling is neither explicitly legalized nor explicitly banned in Spain (including Madrid). The Spanish Constitution's Article 27 guarantees a right to education, and national law (LOE, as modified by LOMLOE) makes education compulsory from age 6 to 16, but it does not specify that this must happen in a school building nor does it recognize home education as a formal alternative pathway. A 2010 Constitutional Court ruling (STC 133/2010) confirmed there is no constitutional guarantee of a right to homeschool, but it also did not criminalize the practice, leaving it in a genuine legal grey area with outcomes that vary by case and by autonomous community.
Visa Consideration For Foreign Families
Some Spanish residence visa categories require proof that resident children are enrolled in a recognized school, so foreign families on visas should verify their specific visa conditions before relying on homeschooling, as it can create a conflict with residency requirements.

Madrid Specific Community

Caveat
This is a small, informal parent-run community (email lists, blog comment threads, occasional meetups), not an institutionalized co-op with a fixed curriculum or facility — families should expect to self-organize via these networks rather than find a turnkey program.
Exists
Yes
National Support Organization
The Asociación para la Libre Educación (ALE) is the main national homeschooling association and has provided support (including group-rate arrangements for outings) to the Madrid group; ALE and the organization Educación Libre both offer legal guidance and community connections relevant to families in Madrid.
Description
A genuine, long-running Madrid-based homeschooling group ("Homeschooling en Madrid" / associated blog "aprendiendoenfamilia.org") is listed as a local Self-Directed Education group by the Alliance for Self-Directed Education directory. Community members describe organizing group outings, workshops, and informal parent-to-parent support going back to informal contact before 2006 and in-person meetups from 2006 onward.

International Bilingual School Enrollment

Waitlists
Popular schools may have waitlists, particularly for certain age groups and during peak (September-intake) application periods; families applying in peak periods should expect anywhere from a few weeks to several months' wait for placement depending on the school and year group, so applying early is advisable.
Mid Year Entry
Because many schools admit throughout the year as families move in and out of the city, mid-year entry is more feasible in Madrid than in some other capitals, though school choice is wider if applying ahead of the September intake.
Overall Pattern
Most international schools in Madrid run rolling admissions rather than a single deadline, with a typical sequence of enquiry and registration, submission of documents, an assessment or interview, an offer, and then a deposit to confirm the place.
How Far In Advance To Apply
For September entry, families should begin the process the previous autumn or winter, roughly six to twelve months ahead for the most popular schools, since many admissions cycles open earlier than parents expect. A commonly cited practical timeline is open-day visits and registering interest in the September–November window before the target start year, formal applications and assessments from December through February, and offers issued with deposits payable around March.
Residency Note
Most Madrid international schools accept applications from families who do not yet hold Spanish residency, but final enrolment is usually conditional on the residence card or NIE being issued before the start of term.
Fee Deposit Note
Bilingual private and international schools generally require a deposit to secure a place once an offer is made; families should confirm any dual-credential arrangements (e.g., IB plus Spanish Bachillerato) in writing before signing, and confirm the school's fee-escalation policy, as Madrid international school fees commonly rise a few percent annually.
Public And Concertado System Note
For the public and concertado (subsidized private) school system, the formal application window opens in March for September entry, and required documentation includes the NIE, proof of address (empadronamiento), and vaccination records. All children, regardless of nationality, are entitled to a public school place, but places are allocated by local catchment/proximity, so a registered address in the relevant area is required.

Documents Typically Required

  • Passport copies for the child and both parents
  • Residency cards / NIE once issued (most schools accept applications before Spanish residency is finalized, but enrolment is usually conditional on the NIE or residence card being issued before term starts)
  • Previous school transcripts/report cards
  • Vaccination records
  • Proof of address (empadronamiento) — required for the public/concertado system, and useful supporting documentation generally

Market Overview

Summary
Madrid has one of Europe's largest and most varied international-school markets, spanning British (English National Curriculum/IGCSE/A-Level), American (AP/US High School Diploma), full IB continuum (PYP/MYP/DP), and bilingual Spanish-international schools. Most cluster in the northwest suburbs (Pozuelo de Alarcón, La Moraleja/Alcobendas, Aravaca) and the north (Alcobendas/Ciudalcampo), with a smaller number of centrally located options near the Retiro/Chamberí area.
Boarding Schools Approx
9
Bilingual Schools Approx
35
British Curriculum Schools Approx
30
Total International Schools Approx
73
Average Annual Tuition Age12 Benchmark
€11,880
AI-generated estimateData refreshed July 2026

This section has no cited sources.

Data last updated July 2026 · Verify anything important.