nomadr
Go Back

Schools & Education in São Paulo

Good to Know

  • Most foreign-curriculum schools (American, British, French) run parallel to the Brazilian academic calendar or start-February-to-December schedule, though some American-curriculum schools like Graded bill on a July-June fiscal year — check this before assuming a January enrollment start.
  • Popular schools, especially those with strong IB programmes, often have waiting lists for specific year groups, so applying 6-12 months ahead is common practice.
  • Several of the most established schools (St. Paul's, Colégio Visconde de Porto Seguro, Pueri Domus, Beit Yaacov) do not publish tuition figures publicly — you generally have to request a quote directly from admissions.
  • If your relocation package includes an education allowance, check whether it's a full-coverage or capped allowance, since the gap between mid-tier and premium São Paulo schools can be tens of thousands of BRL per year.
  • Two Nord Anglia / British-network campuses (The British College of Brazil) exist in different parts of the city — confirm which campus (Cidade Jardim vs. Chácara Flora) is actually near your neighborhood before enrolling.
  • Apply to São Paulo international/bilingual schools 6–9 months ahead of your target start date — January-entry applications typically open in August–September of the prior year.
  • If you're arriving mid-year (July–August), most schools treat the second semester as a natural entry point rather than making you wait for the following February.
  • Bring translated academic records and be ready for an age-appropriate assessment plus an English-language check (and a Portuguese assessment at some schools from around Grade 5 up) — don't leave translations to the last minute.
  • Waitlists are real for the most sought-after schools, especially strong IB and bilingual programs — a completed application does not guarantee a seat, and some schools admit strictly in order of application with sibling priority.
  • Budget for one-time registration/enrollment fees and, at some schools, a separate capital/building levy on top of tuition — these are not always mentioned upfront in tuition quotes.
  • Homeschooling in Brazil is legally unsettled, not a straightforward legal option: the Supreme Court has said it doesn't violate the Constitution but requires a law that Congress still hasn't passed, and a São Paulo family was criminally sentenced over it in 2026 — nomad families should not assume homeschooling is a safe fallback here without qualified local legal advice.
  • We could not confirm a dedicated, documented homeschooling co-op or in-person support community specific to São Paulo — only a national association (ANED) exists as a verifiable resource.

General Tuition Band

Typical Extra Costs
Registration/enrolment fee (BRL 4,000-25,000, one-time), books/uniforms, lunch (BRL 7,000-12,000/year), and at some schools a building/capital fund donation (BRL 15,000-35,000, one-time).
Description
Across São Paulo's international schools broadly (all curricula, all grade levels)

Annual Range

Amount USD Low
13487
Currency Local
BRL
Amount USD High
34682
Amount Local Low
70000
Amount Local High
180000

Schools And Curricula

  • Graded – The American School of São Paulo
    Ages
    3 to 18
    Neighborhood
    Morumbi
    Source Confidence
    high — cross-checked against the school's own fee page and a U.S. State Department overseas-schools fact sheet

    Tuition

    Lower School Pk3 To Grade5 Annual
    R$153,816
    Upper School Grades6 To 12 Annual
    R$190,872
    One Time Entrance Fee First Child 2023 24 Figure
    R$98,800
    Notes
    2026-27 school year figures, paid monthly across the school's July-June fiscal year.

    Curricula

    • American (US K-12)
    • IB Diploma Programme (Grades 11-12)
    • Brazilian Diploma track
  • St. Paul's School
    Ages
    3 to 18
    Neighborhood
    Jardins

    Tuition

    Notes
    St. Paul's does not publish its fees publicly. Independent education consultancies place São Paulo's most premium schools (a group that reportedly includes St. Paul's) at roughly USD 35,000-44,000 per year, but this figure is an unofficial estimate, not a confirmed school-published rate.

    Curricula

    • British (English National Curriculum + Cambridge IGCSE)
    • IB Diploma Programme
    • Brazilian Core Curriculum
  • The British College of Brazil (Nord Anglia Education)
    Ages
    2 to 18
    Neighborhood
    Two campuses: Cidade Jardim and Chácara Flora

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed; general São Paulo international-school band applies (see “Good To Know”).

    Curricula

    • British (EYFS, International Primary Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE)
    • IB Diploma Programme (secondary)
  • Chapel School
    Ages
    3 to 18
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo (Alphaville region)

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • American
    • IB
  • Colégio Visconde De Porto Seguro
    Ages
    Early years to 18
    Neighborhood
    Two campuses: Morumbi and Panamby

    Tuition

    Notes
    School does not make its fees public.

    Curricula

    • Bilingual Curriculum + International German Curriculum (Morumbi campus)
    • Bilingual Curriculum + IB Diploma Programme (Panamby campus)
  • Pueri Domus Bilingual School
    Ages
    2 to 18
    Neighborhood
    Multiple campuses: Aclimação, Perdizes, Perdizes II

    Tuition

    Notes
    School does not make its fees public.

    Curricula

    • Bilingual (Brazilian BNCC + US CCSS)
    • IB Diploma Programme (High School)
  • St. Francis College
    Ages
    3 to 18
    Neighborhood
    Two campuses in Pinheiros

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • IB Continuum (PYP, MYP, DP)
    • Cambridge IGCSE
    • Brazilian and British national curricula guidance
  • Beacon School
    Ages
    Not specified in sources reviewed
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • IB Continuum (PYP, MYP, DP)
  • Escola Beit Yaacov
    Ages
    Not specified in sources reviewed
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo

    Tuition

    Notes
    School does not make its fees public.

    Curricula

    • Trilingual immersion (serving São Paulo's Jewish community)
  • Pan American Christian Academy (PACA)
    Ages
    Not specified in sources reviewed
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • American (with AP courses and SAT preparation)
  • St. John's International School
    Ages
    Not specified in sources reviewed
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • UK National Curriculum with IGCSE and A-Levels
  • Colégio Miguel De Cervantes
    Ages
    Not specified in sources reviewed
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • Bilingual Spanish-Portuguese with Spanish Bachillerato pathway
  • Sphere International School
    Ages
    Not specified in sources reviewed
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • IB Continuum (PYP, MYP, DP) in English with structured Portuguese support
  • Lycée Pasteur
    Ages
    Not specified in sources reviewed
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo

    Tuition

    Notes
    This is a general range reported for AEFE-accredited French-curriculum schools in Brazil, including Lycée Pasteur, and runs materially lower than American/British-curriculum schools.

    Annual Range Approx

    Amount USD Low
    11560
    Currency Local
    BRL
    Amount USD High
    21195
    Amount Local Low
    60000
    Amount Local High
    110000

    Curricula

    • French national curriculum (AEFE-accredited), culminating in the Baccalauréat
  • Schweizerschule São Paulo
    Ages
    3 to 18
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed. Non-profit school affiliated with Switzerland since 1967 and supported by the Canton of Basel.

    Curricula

    • Swiss and Brazilian curricula
    • IB (PYP, MYP, DP)
  • Avenues São Paulo
    Ages
    Not specified in sources reviewed
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • IB (Primary Years Programme through IB Diploma) as a pure-play offering
  • Stance Dual School
    Ages
    1 to 14
    Neighborhood
    São Paulo

    Tuition

    Notes
    Fees not published in sources reviewed.

    Curricula

    • Bilingual, multicultural curriculum

Enrollment And Homeschooling

Homeschooling Legality Brazil

Status Summary
Homeschooling in Brazil occupies a legal grey area: it is not explicitly criminalized by name, but is not authorized either, and prosecutors/courts have treated unregistered home education as truancy or 'intellectual neglect.'
Pending Legislation
A bill (PL 1338/2022) that would authorize homeschooling under conditions — including a parent/guardian with completed higher education, links to a school for monitoring, and adherence to the National Common Curriculum Base (BNCC) — passed Brazil's House of Representatives in 2022 but has since stalled in the Senate.
Supreme Court Ruling
In September 2018 Brazil's Supreme Court (STF) ruled in RE 888815 that homeschooling does not violate the Constitution, but that it requires federal legislation to regulate it before families can practise it legally — that legislation has not yet been passed.
Legal Status Classification
illegal
Population Estimates Caveat
Estimates of how many families homeschool in Brazil vary widely across sources (from roughly 7,500 up to 70,000+ children/families), so treat any specific figure as approximate.
Sao Paulo Specific Enforcement Case
In a case that began in São Paulo, a lower state court in April 2026 convicted and sentenced a homeschooling couple to 50 days in prison for 'intellectual neglect' after they withdrew their daughters from school in 2022; the sentence is suspended pending an appeal to the 7th Criminal Chamber of the São Paulo State Court of Justice, and advocacy groups describe it as the first criminal prosecution of home educators in the country.
Practical Implication For Nomad Families
For internationally mobile families temporarily in São Paulo, formally enrolling in a registered school (local, bilingual, or international) is the legally safe path; relying on homeschooling or an unregistered online curriculum alone carries documented legal risk under current Brazilian law, as illustrated by the 2026 São Paulo case.

Homeschooling Community Sao Paulo

Local Co Op Found
No
National Association
The Brazilian National Association for Homeschooling (ANED — Associação Nacional de Educação Domiciliar) is the main national advocacy and support organization for homeschooling families in Brazil, but it is a national body, not a documented São Paulo-city-specific in-person co-op or learning pod.
Note
No dedicated, verifiable São Paulo-specific homeschool co-op or in-person community group was found in research for this guide; families interested in homeschooling networks would need to connect with ANED at a national level or seek current, informal expat-parent groups directly.

International Bilingual School Enrollment

Application Timing

General Lead Time
Apply 6–9 months ahead of the desired start.
Mid Year Arrivals
Mid-year arrivals in July–August typically join at the second semester, which is a natural entry point.
School Year Structure
The Brazilian academic year runs February–December, so most São Paulo international schools accept enrolments year-round but treat February as the main intake.
January February Intake
Applications for January entry (the start of the Brazilian school year) typically open in August or September of the previous year.
Most Competitive Intake
Year 11 IB Diploma entry is the most competitive intake.

Required Documents

Standard List
Standard documents: completed application, last two academic years of school reports (translated where applicable), passport copies, immunisation records, and the application fee.
Assessment Process
Most international schools run a low-stakes, age-appropriate entry assessment plus a CEFR-aligned English language check; schools with a heavier Brazilian curriculum mix add a written Portuguese assessment from around Grade 5 upwards, and Grades 2–11 candidates at some schools sit MAP (Measures of Academic Progress) testing.
Academic References
Two academic references are commonly requested — one from the current homeroom teacher, one from a subject teacher.
Identity And Status
Passport copies and visa or RNM (foreigner ID) status are typically required.
Learning Support Docs
Recent psychoeducational reports are requested if the student has any documented learning support need.
Language Prep Note
Preparing documentation in Portuguese in advance is recommended, since translated academic records are commonly required.

Waitlist Realities

No Guarantee
At some schools (independent of nationality, e.g. non-profit foundation-run schools), a place is not guaranteed by submitting an application, and enrollments occur as vacancies arise, admitted in order of application with priority given to siblings.
General Pattern
The most sought-after schools — particularly those with strong bilingual or IB programmes — often have waiting lists for popular year groups.
Waitlist Mechanics Example
Where no place is available in a child's grade, the standard practice is that the application is placed on a formal waiting list rather than rejected outright.
Market Size Context
São Paulo has a deep international school market — home to roughly 21 international schools spanning American, British, IB, French, German, Swiss, Italian and other bilingual/national curricula — giving families more curricular choice than elsewhere in Brazil, which somewhat eases (but does not eliminate) competition for top-choice schools.

Typical Upfront Costs Tied To Enrollment

Note On Figures
These are one-time or first-year fees on top of tuition; all figures are indicative and should be confirmed directly with each school.

Capital Levy Building Fund

Range Low
R$10,000
Range High
R$40,000
Description
Some schools add an annual or one-time infrastructure contribution.

Registration Enrollment Fee

Range Low
R$5,000
Range High
R$25,000
Description
A one-time payment most schools charge on first entry and sometimes again on re-enrollment after a gap.
AI-generated estimateData refreshed July 2026

This section has no cited sources.

Data last updated July 2026 · Verify anything important.