Good to know
Good to Know
- Almost all of the well-established international schools sit outside the immediate downtown core — in Cascais, Sintra, Estoril or Oeiras — so factor in a 20-40 minute commute unless you choose one of the newer, more central options like The Lisboan, The British School of Lisbon, Redbridge or United Lisbon.
- Advertised tuition is rarely the full cost: budget extra for registration/capital fees, school lunch, transport, uniforms, and after-school clubs, which several school-fee breakdowns suggest can add meaningfully on top of headline tuition.
- The IB Diploma Programme years (typically the final two years of secondary) are usually priced noticeably higher than earlier grades at the same school, due to smaller class sizes and external exam fees.
- Several schools (Almada International, St. James', Beyond International, King's College School among others) do not publish fees publicly — you'll need to contact them directly for a quote.
- Most schools offer sibling discounts, and a few (e.g. CAISL, Greene's College) offer limited merit-based scholarships or financial aid — worth asking about directly since availability and terms vary by school and year.
- If you're planning a longer-term stay, a bilingual Portuguese-English track (offered at schools like St. Julian's, Redbridge, St. George's, and St. James') can ease integration into Portuguese life and is generally cheaper than the fully international tracks.
- If you want a realistic shot at the most established Cascais/central Lisbon international schools (especially Reception, Year 1, Year 7 or IB Diploma entry), start the application process 9-12 months before your intended start date — leaving it to a few months out narrows your choices considerably.
- Get transcripts and any special-needs/educational psychology reports translated into English or Portuguese before you start applying; schools ask for this early and it can be a bottleneck if left until an offer is close.
- A school place offer for a D7, digital nomad (D8) or Golden Visa application is often needed as part of your visa paperwork, but don't assume a mid-year acceptance means a mid-year start — visa and residency processing can add real weeks between offer and first day.
- Consider putting down waitlist deposits at more than one school rather than betting everything on a single first choice, since enrolment fees are typically non-refundable once paid.
- Homeschooling in Portugal (Ensino Doméstico) is genuinely legal, but it's a regulated, paperwork-heavy pathway requiring a degree-holding parent, school enrolment, and annual assessments — it is not a way to opt out of the system. Many expat families sidestep this by using an international online curriculum instead, which trades Portuguese-system recognition for administrative simplicity.
- Homeschooling community support in Portugal (ANPED, MEL, and Facebook groups) is organised nationally rather than as a Lisbon-only network, so expect to connect with families across the country rather than a purely local group.
Schools And Curricula
- Overview
- Lisbon has the largest concentration of international schools in Portugal — aggregator counts range from roughly 27 to 36 depending on how 'greater Lisbon' is defined, including campuses in Cascais, Sintra, Oeiras and Estoril as well as the city itself. Curricula on offer include the International Baccalaureate (PYP/MYP/DP), British (English National Curriculum, IGCSE, A-Levels, Cambridge International), American (US High School Diploma, AP), French (Baccalauréat), German (Abitur), and Portuguese-English bilingual tracks. Most families end up spending well outside the immediate downtown core, since the majority of established campuses are in Cascais, Sintra or Oeiras rather than central Lisbon; a handful of newer schools (e.g. The Lisboan, British School of Lisbon, United Lisbon, Redbridge) are based within the city itself.
Schools
St. Julian's School
- Location
- Carcavelos (Cascais line, ~20-30 min from central Lisbon)
- Age Range
- 3-18
- Curriculum
- English National Curriculum through GCSE, IB Diploma or Career-related Programme in Years 12-13, plus a separate Bilingual (Portuguese/English) pathway
- Tuition Max
- €29,097
- Tuition Min
- €12,384
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Established 1932; accredited by CIS, COBIS, NEASC and the IB; one of the largest and most established international schools in the region.
Carlucci American International School of Lisbon (CAISL)
- Location
- Linhó, Sintra
- Age Range
- 3-18
- Curriculum
- American curriculum leading to a US High School Diploma, with IB Diploma Programme option in upper grades
- Tuition Max
- €22,736
- Tuition Min
- €11,716
- Tuition Period
- per year, 2025-2026 school year
- Notes
- The only school in Portugal recognized by the US Department of State; offers limited scholarships/financial aid.
TASIS Portugal
- Location
- Near Sintra
- Age Range
- Pre-Kindergarten to Grade 12
- Curriculum
- American-international curriculum with IB Diploma option in upper years
- Tuition Max
- €23,160
- Tuition Min
- €12,390
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Part of the TASIS network with sister campuses in Switzerland and England.
The British School of Lisbon (BSL)
- Location
- Cais do Sodré / Campo de Ourique / Restelo, Lisbon
- Age Range
- 3-16
- Curriculum
- English National Curriculum, weaving in Portuguese language and cultural studies
- Tuition Max
- €21,375
- Tuition Min
- €13,110
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Operated under The Schools Trust; established 2019; based centrally within Lisbon itself rather than the suburbs.
Redbridge International School
- Location
- Lisbon (central, Campo de Ourique area)
- Age Range
- 3-18
- Curriculum
- Bilingual English-Portuguese (also French option), incorporating Cambridge and IB elements, Montessori/Reggio-Emilia influenced
- Tuition Max
- €15,000
- Tuition Min
- €8,000
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Known for small class sizes and a child-centred, multilingual approach.
Oeiras International School (OIS)
- Location
- Oeiras
- Age Range
- 5-18
- Curriculum
- International Baccalaureate (IB)
- Tuition Max
- €21,713
- Tuition Min
- €13,547
- Tuition Period
- per year
Prime School International
- Location
- Multiple campuses: Sintra, Lisbon, Estoril, Cascais
- Age Range
- 3-18
- Curriculum
- Cambridge International Curriculum through IGCSE/A-Level, plus a Prime Technical Route (practical/vocational track from Year 9)
- Tuition Max
- €22,760
- Tuition Min
- €11,885
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Offers premium boarding at some campuses plus technical/vocational alternative tracks.
United Lisbon International School
- Location
- Parque das Nações, Lisbon
- Age Range
- 3-18
- Curriculum
- American curriculum and International Baccalaureate (IB), with a focus on entrepreneurship and technology
- Tuition Max
- €24,000
- Tuition Min
- €11,800
- Tuition Period
- per year
The Lisboan International School
- Location
- Lisbon (city center, near YOO Lisbon Downtown)
- Age Range
- Not specified in available sources
- Curriculum
- British curriculum (leading toward IGCSE/A-Level pathway) with an in-house 'Lisboan Experience Programme'
- Tuition Max
- €21,950
- Tuition Min
- €11,950
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- New campus opening in a restored 1908 pasta factory, one of the newest entrants (2025).
Lycée Français Charles Lepierre
- Location
- Lisbon (central)
- Age Range
- 3-18
- Curriculum
- French national curriculum (maternelle to terminale), leading to the French Baccalauréat, run by the French Ministry of Education
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- One of the largest French schools in Europe, with roughly 2,000 students; specific current fee schedule not published in sources reviewed — confirm directly with the school.
Deutsche Schule Lissabon (German School of Lisbon)
- Location
- Telheiras, Lisbon
- Age Range
- Kindergarten through secondary
- Curriculum
- German national curriculum leading to the Abitur; bilingual German-Portuguese instruction
- Tuition Max
- €9,000
- Tuition Min
- €5,000
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Long-established, roughly 1,100 students.
Colégio Planalto
- Location
- Lisbon
- Age Range
- Not fully specified (boys' school, founded 1978)
- Curriculum
- Portuguese national curriculum with English as language of instruction; IB Diploma option
- Tuition Max
- €10,000
- Tuition Min
- €6,000
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- One of the oldest Catholic boys' schools in Lisbon; blends local curriculum with English-medium and IB options.
PaRK International School
- Location
- Multiple Lisbon-area campuses: Alfragide, Cascais, Praça de Espanha, Restelo
- Age Range
- Not specified
- Curriculum
- Cambridge International Curriculum and Portuguese National Curriculum options (British-aligned)
- Tuition Max
- €19,000
- Tuition Min
- €6,000
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Part of the Inspired Education Group; multiple campuses across greater Lisbon.
International Preparatory School (IPS)
- Location
- Cascais / Alcabideche
- Age Range
- 3-12 (Cascais campus)
- Curriculum
- British National Curriculum
- Tuition Max
- €14,929
- Tuition Min
- €10,564
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Small class sizes; a Lisbon campus also exists.
St. Peter's International School
- Location
- Palmela / Setúbal area
- Age Range
- 4 months to 18 years
- Curriculum
- Portuguese Bilingual Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE, and IB Diploma
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Fees not publicly listed in sources reviewed; over 30 years of operation. Note this campus is farther from central Lisbon than most others on this list.
St. Dominic's International School
- Location
- Cascais
- Age Range
- Not fully specified
- Curriculum
- IB (Diploma, Middle Years, Primary Years Programmes) with religious education component
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Founded by Irish Dominican Sisters in 1954; specific current fees not published in sources reviewed.
International Sharing School (Taguspark)
- Location
- Oeiras (Taguspark tech/business hub)
- Age Range
- Foundation through secondary
- Curriculum
- International Baccalaureate (IB) in English, with Portuguese as a second language
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Specific fee tiers vary by grade; not consistently published across sources.
St. George's School Lisbon
- Location
- Lisbon
- Age Range
- 10-18
- Curriculum
- Cambridge International (Primary, Secondary, IGCSE, AS/A Levels), bilingual English-Portuguese, with some subjects following the Portuguese National Curriculum
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Operates in partnership with St James's Primary School for younger years.
St. James' School
- Location
- Lisbon
- Age Range
- 6-10
- Curriculum
- Bilingual, split equally between English and Portuguese instruction
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Fees not made public.
Almada International School
- Location
- Almada (across the Tagus, greater Lisbon)
- Age Range
- Not specified
- Curriculum
- Bilingual, holistic international curriculum
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Fees not made public.
Greene's College Oxford (Lisbon/Estoril)
- Location
- Lisbon and Estoril
- Age Range
- Secondary/college age
- Curriculum
- British curriculum, IGCSE and A-Levels (including retakes and Foundation Years), Oxford-style tutorial method
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Small, boutique tutorial-style college rather than a full K-12 school; offers merit-based scholarships at IB Diploma level per some sources.
Brave Generation Academy (BGA) Lisbon/Cascais
- Location
- Lisbon and Cascais
- Age Range
- 12-18
- Curriculum
- Hybrid/digital-platform school offering British IGCSEs and A-Levels, plus American curriculum track
- Tuition Period
- per year
- Notes
- Delivered via a hybrid/digital learning model rather than a traditional single campus.
Homeschooling
- Legal Status
- Legal and formally regulated nationwide (Portugal, including Lisbon) under Decreto-Lei n.º 70/2021, which governs two distinct home-based pathways: Ensino Doméstico (a family member or co-resident adult teaches the child) and Ensino Individual (a licensed teacher, not necessarily a relative, teaches the child at home).
- Community And Support
- Support organisations exist at the national level rather than as Lisbon-specific co-ops: ANPED (Associação Nacional de Pais em Ensino Doméstico) is the national homeschool parents' association, and MEL (Movimento Educação Livre) is a nonprofit offering legal advice and curriculum/registration support to homeschooling families across Portugal. A 'Homeschooling in Portugal' Facebook group is also commonly used by families nationwide, including those in the Lisbon area, to connect and share first-hand experience. We could not confirm a dedicated, documented Lisbon-specific homeschool co-op or in-person meetup group distinct from these national organisations and online communities.
- Expat Alternative Pathway
- Many expat families in Portugal instead enrol their child with an accredited international/online school following a non-Portuguese curriculum (e.g. British/Cambridge or American K-12 programmes) rather than entering the Ensino Doméstico system at all. This route sits outside Decreto-Lei 70/2021 and its degree/assessment requirements, but it means the child's education isn't recognised within the Portuguese public system and there are real financial and administrative trade-offs to weigh against the formal route.
Key Requirements
- The child must remain formally enrolled at a supervising public (or in some cases private) school, which oversees evaluations and progression — homeschooling is not an independent, unsupervised track.
- For Ensino Doméstico, the responsible adult (a family member living with the child) must hold at least a university degree (licenciatura); a degree earned abroad must be officially recognised in Portugal through the DGES recognition process.
- For Ensino Individual, the teacher must be a professionally qualified/licensed teacher rather than a family member.
- A formal 'Protocolo de Colaboração' (collaboration agreement) between the family and the supervising school's director sets out responsibilities and must be renewed annually.
- Children must follow the Portuguese national curriculum standards and sit periodic/annual assessments (methods vary by grade, including national exams in Portuguese at certain levels, commonly from around Year 9).
International Bilingual School Enrollment
- Overview
- Greater Lisbon's international and bilingual school sector (roughly 40 schools across the city centre, Cascais, Estoril, Oeiras, Sintra and the southern Margem Sul) runs on a September-to-June academic year, and demand from relocating families has outpaced supply at the most established schools.
- Waitlist Reality
- Waitlists exist and are treated as normal rather than exceptional for the most sought-after schools and year groups. One school-placement service cites waits of one to two years for a place at the most in-demand schools, while other admissions guides frame 9-12 month lead times as the realistic minimum for the top-tier Cascais/central Lisbon schools. Families are commonly advised to pay waitlist deposits at two schools rather than banking on a single first choice.
- Application Timing
- Most schools open priority admissions windows between October and April for the following September start, with the heaviest activity in October-December and a second, more limited window January-April. Independent advisors consistently recommend applying 9 to 12 months ahead of an intended start date, especially for high-demand entry points such as Reception/Early Years, Year 1, Year 7, and the IB Diploma year. Some newer schools (e.g. in Parque das Nações) and at least one newer school explicitly run rolling admissions with no fixed deadline, which can help late applicants, but the established British/American/IB schools in Cascais and central Lisbon are the ones with real timing pressure.
- Typical Process Steps
- Enquiry and/or school tour, submission of the application form with supporting documents and an application fee, an assessment and/or family interview (remote options often available for families still abroad), a written offer, and then formal enrolment (signing a contract and paying a registration/enrolment fee) usually within about 10 working days of the offer.
- Mid Year And Relocation Entry
- Mid-year entry is possible at most schools subject to year-group capacity, and some schools state they will consider applications from families still based overseas. However, advisors caution that a mid-year offer does not guarantee a mid-year start: visa and residency processing (particularly for non-EU families) often adds real weeks to the timeline, so the school application and the visa process need to be run in parallel rather than sequentially. Families relocating mid-cycle are generally told to contact admissions offices directly with proof of the relocation date, since many schools handle these cases outside the standard cycle.
- Enrolment Fee Note
- Enrolment/registration fees are almost always non-refundable once paid to secure a place; families whose relocation is still conditional on a visa or job are advised to ask the school about hold arrangements or phased deposits before paying.
Required Documents
- Academic transcripts / school reports from the last two academic years (plus the current year if applicable)
- Official translations into English or Portuguese if originals are in another language
- Copies of the student's and parents'/legal guardians' passport or ID
- Documentation of special educational needs or prior educational psychology assessments, if applicable, translated in advance
- Proof of address / proof of relocation date in Portugal (often required to complete enrolment, and for D7/digital nomad/Golden Visa applications the school's acceptance letter is itself typically a required visa document)
- Application form and application fee per child; assessment/interview (often remote for overseas applicants) may be required depending on age and school
Representative Fees
EUR
EUR
EUR
EUR
EUR
AI-generated estimateData refreshed July 2026
This section has no cited sources.
More About Lisbon
Data last updated July 2026 · Verify anything important.