nomadr
Go Back

Schools & Education in Kyoto

Good to Know

  • Kyoto's named international/bilingual school options are limited compared to Tokyo or Osaka — Kyoto International School (KIS) and Doshisha International School (DISK) are the two most established English-medium K-12 options actually sitting in the city.
  • KIS is Kyoto's only full IB continuum school and is only just completing its build-out to Grade 12 (2026), so older secondary students have historically had fewer local IB options.
  • Most schools quote tuition excluding one-time application, enrollment, facility, and supply fees — budget extra on top of any published annual figure.
  • Several schools (Doshisha International, Ecole Française du Kansai, Chandra Sekhar Academy, KIU Academy) do not publish fees at all; you'll need to contact them directly for a current quote.
  • Families wanting French-medium (AEFE/Lycée Français) or Cambridge/IGCSE options have very few local Kyoto alternatives, so waiting lists can be an issue — apply well ahead of your planned move.
  • Because Kyoto's international schools use waitlists rather than guaranteed rolling admission, apply well before your planned arrival — don't assume a same-month start is possible, especially for Kindergarten or Grade 1.
  • Check visa support carefully before committing: at least one major Kyoto international school (KIS) explicitly does not support student visa applications, which matters if you're relocating without an existing dependent/work visa.
  • Public elementary/junior-high school is a legitimate, far cheaper alternative to international school for foreign families in Kyoto, though it means full Japanese-language instruction.
  • If you plan to homeschool in Kyoto, there is no legal requirement to register or notify anyone, but keep your own records of progress — there's no official reporting system to lean on, and no confirmed local Kyoto homeschool group to plug into, so budget time to build your own support network.

Schools And Curricula

Overview
Kyoto has a noticeably smaller pool of international/bilingual K-12 schools than Tokyo or Osaka, and most families weighing a full range of curricula end up also looking at Osaka/Kobe schools (roughly 45-60 minutes away). Within Kyoto city itself, the main named options are:

Schools

  • Kyoto International School (KIS)
    Founded
    1957 (originally a missionary/day-school, renamed Kyoto International School in 1966)
    Location
    Kamigyo-ku, central Kyoto
    Ages Grades
    Early Years/Kindergarten through Grade 10 currently; Grade 11 added August 2025 and Grade 12 planned for 2026, making it Kyoto's only full K-12 IB school.
    Accreditation
    WASC (Western Association of Schools and Colleges) and International Baccalaureate Organization; also the first school accredited by COBIS via its WASC accreditation.
    Curriculum Detail
    IB World School offering the Primary Years Programme (PYP) and Middle Years Programme (MYP); expanding to a full Diploma Programme (DP) as it grows into a complete K-12 IB continuum.
    Language Of Instruction
    English

    Tuition

    Period
    per year
    Currency Local
    JPY
    Note
    Figures exclude one-time enrollment/application fees. A separate source lists a lower USD-denominated range (roughly $10,859–$13,532/year); we flag this discrepancy internally rather than presenting one number as certain.

    Amount USD Range

    Low
    9444
    High
    11827

    Amount Local Range

    Low
    1530000
    High
    1916000

    Curriculum

    • IB (International Baccalaureate)
  • Doshisha International School, Kyoto (DISK)
    Location
    Kyoto (part of the wider Doshisha educational network based in the city)
    Affiliation
    Part of the Doshisha School Corporation
    Ages Grades
    Kindergarten through Grade 12 (Pre-K–12)
    Curriculum Detail
    Follows the Cambridge Curriculum, preparing students for IGCSE and A-Levels.
    Language Of Instruction
    English

    Tuition

    Status
    Not publicly disclosed
    Note
    No public fee schedule found; families need to contact the school directly for current tuition.

    Curriculum

    • British/Cambridge
  • Ecole Française Du Kansai / Lycée Français International De Kyoto (LFI Kyoto)
    Location
    Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto
    Ages Grades
    Age 3 (maternelle) through age 18 (terminale)
    Curriculum Detail
    Operates under the AEFE (Agence pour l'enseignement français à l'étranger) network of French schools abroad, following the official program of the French Ministry of National Education; grades up to the end of junior high receive French governmental accreditation.
    Language Of Instruction
    French, with Japanese and other language study

    Tuition

    Status
    Not publicly disclosed
    Note
    School directs inquiries directly rather than publishing rates.

    Curriculum

    • French national curriculum
  • Chandra Sekhar Academy International School, Kyoto
    Location
    Kyoto
    Curriculum Detail
    Indian-style, English-language CBSE curriculum with Japanese language, culture, and manners incorporated into the program.
    Language Of Instruction
    English
    Notes
    Originally founded to support children with special educational needs (SEN), but is inclusive and accepts all students.

    Tuition

    Status
    Not publicly disclosed

    Curriculum

    • CBSE (Indian curriculum)
  • KIU Academy (Kansai–Kyoto's G1–12 International School)
    Ages Grades
    Grade 1 through Grade 12
    Accreditation
    WASC and ACSI
    Curriculum Detail
    A Christ-centered, bilingual school teaching a Western, self-directed-study-oriented curriculum alongside awareness of the Japanese national curriculum; classes conducted in both English and Japanese.
    Language Of Instruction
    English and Japanese (bilingual)
    Notes
    Draws students from across the Kansai region (Kyoto, Osaka, Nara), so verify the exact campus address relative to central Kyoto before assuming a short commute.

    Tuition

    Status
    Not publicly disclosed

    Curriculum

    • American/Christian bilingual
  • Sakura International School, Kyoto Campus
    Ages Grades
    Early Learning Centre (ELC) and kindergarten only — this Kyoto campus does not appear to extend into primary/secondary grades
    Curriculum Detail
    Bilingual English–Japanese program; offers a 'right brain education' approach for its early-learning center and inquiry-based learning at kindergarten level.
    Language Of Instruction
    English and Japanese (bilingual)

    Tuition

    Status
    Not publicly disclosed

    Curriculum

    • Bilingual / play-based and inquiry-based

Homeschooling

Legality In Japan

Status
Homeschooling exists in a legal gray area nationwide, including in Kyoto — it is not a status specific to this city.

Key Facts

  • Japan's School Education Law obliges parents to send children of compulsory-education age to a recognized primary or lower-secondary school, and 'home schools' are not included in the legal definition of a school.
  • High school (roughly age 15+) is not compulsory in Japan, so homeschooling at that stage sits on firmer legal ground than at the elementary/junior-high level.
  • In practice, families are not prosecuted or jailed for homeschooling; the law targets a parent's general duty to arrange schooling rather than criminalizing home-based learning itself.
  • There is no legal requirement to notify authorities, though some families choose to inform their local ward office or the school they are zoned for as a courtesy/precaution; this is not mandatory.
  • There is no mandated curriculum, standardized testing, or reporting regime for homeschoolers in Japan.

Kyoto Specific Community

Finding
No genuinely Kyoto-specific homeschool co-op, meetup group, or support organization could be verified through available sources. Homeschooling support in Japan is organized mainly at the national level (e.g. the NPO Homeschool Association of Japan, and CHEA Japan) or around specific individual families/cities elsewhere in the country (for example, a homeschooling support network is documented in Himeji, Hyogo — a different city). A Kyoto-based newspaper has covered homeschooling stories from other regions, but that is media coverage, not evidence of an organized Kyoto homeschool community.
Practical Implication
A nomad family homeschooling in Kyoto today would most likely need to connect with national-level organizations or general expat-parent networks/Facebook groups rather than a dedicated local Kyoto homeschool co-op, since none is documented as currently active.

International Bilingual School Enrollment

General Pattern
Kyoto's main international/bilingual school options (e.g. Kyoto International School - KIS, and Kyoto International University Academy - KIU Academy) run rolling or multi-period admissions rather than a single once-a-year cutoff, but families should still expect waitlists for popular grade levels, especially entry points like Grade 1 or Kindergarten.
Practical Timing Guidance
Neither KIS nor KIU Academy publish a fixed 'apply X months before start' rule; both frame admissions as rolling/multi-period rather than a single annual deadline. Given the explicit use of waitlists and limited-seat payment deadlines, the realistic practical guidance is to start the application at least one full term (roughly 3-4 months) before the desired start date, and earlier still for popular entry grades (Kindergarten/Grade 1) or for the April academic-year start, since that is when local demand peaks.

Kiu Academy Grade 1 12

Process

  • Two application periods per intake; the second period is open to all applicants but is described by the school as mainly intended for returnee students and children of overseas families.
  • Placement/entrance testing (written test plus interview) is conducted at the interview stage and used to determine class placement after enrollment.
  • Application documents (application form, academic transcript, application fee) must be sent by registered mail.
  • Application fee is ¥25,000, paid by bank transfer; a receipt should arrive within about a week.
  • Full tuition payment is due by bank transfer within two weeks of an acceptance notification.
  • Because seats are limited, late payment after acceptance can result in the offer being withdrawn.

Documents Required

  • Application form with ID photo
  • Transcript from the most recent school (not required for first-grade entry)
  • Any existing standardized test results (optional, e.g. TOEFL)

Public School Alternative

Process
Enrollment is arranged through the local ward/city education office once a family has a registered address in Kyoto; no separate 'international' admissions committee is involved.
Legal Note
Foreign-national children are not under the same legal compulsion as Japanese children to attend school, but they can still enroll in Kyoto's public elementary/junior-high schools through the standard municipal application procedure — a much cheaper (effectively free) route than international school for families comfortable with Japanese-language instruction.

Kyoto International School Kis

Notes

  • KIS does not offer boarding and cannot support student visa applications directly — this matters for families relocating without an existing work/dependent visa.
  • Families in Kyoto may be eligible for a local subsidy of up to ¥20,000/month toward early education costs.

Process

  • Admission requires completion of an online application form (OpenApply system).
  • Applications are processed year-round.
    Citation
    Applications are processed all year round but sufficient processing time is required.
  • Citation
    Admissions and class placement will be decided by available space, age, the balance of the grade level and academic needs.
    Note
    Placement depends on space, age, and grade-level balance, not just first-come-first-served.
  • Waitlisting is explicitly used when a grade is full.
    Citation
    Students may be placed on a waiting list if no spaces are available.

Required Documents

  • Scanned passport, birth certificate, or health insurance card to certify date of birth
  • For Grade 1 and above: most recent school report and a KIS confidential recommendation form from the previous school
AI-generated estimateData refreshed July 2026

This section has no cited sources.

Data last updated July 2026 · Verify anything important.