nomadr
Go Back

Yoga, Meditation & Breathwork in Dharamkot

Good to Know

  • The 200/300/500hr yoga teacher trainings clustered in Dharamkot mostly run seasonally from April to October/November — many schools relocate south (commonly to Rishikesh) or pause over the cold Himalayan winter, so don't plan a winter YTT here without checking directly first.
  • Dhamma Sikhara's 10-day Vipassana courses are genuinely free (donation-based) but seats fill up well in advance — register early via the official Vipassana site rather than relying on walk-in availability.
  • Several Dharamkot yoga schools describe themselves as 'Yoga Alliance certified' in their own marketing — it's worth independently verifying a specific school's registration on Yoga Alliance's own registry before paying for a certification-focused course.
  • Tushita and Dhamma Sikhara accommodation is intentionally basic (shared bathrooms, simple bedding, cold at night) — this is normal for the area's ashram/retreat-style centers, not a red flag.
  • The Vipassana course near Dharamkot is genuinely demanding: strict silence, no phones or reading, and a rigid daily schedule — don't book it out of curiosity alone.
  • Tushita's Introduction to Buddhism course is popular and often books out well ahead in high season; the meditation halls are unheated, so bring warm layers even in the hills above McLeod Ganj.
  • The Dalai Lama does not teach year-round — public teachings typically happen only two or three times a year, so check his office's official schedule rather than assuming he'll be in residence.
  • Dharamkot's spiritual scene is smaller and more informal than its reputation suggests: most of daily life revolves around cafés and drop-in yoga rather than a large formal retreat industry, aside from Tushita and the Vipassana centre.

Traditions And Community

Community Character

Assessment
Real, but a small, seasonal, transient scene rather than a large permanent ashram town. Dharamkot has functioned since the 1970s as an offshoot hangout for Western students following Tibetan Buddhist teachers up from McLeod Ganj, and this hippie/backpacker-yogi character has persisted.
Sourcing Basis
Independent first-person travel accounts of extended stays in Dharamkot describing daily café/yoga routines and local rural life alongside visiting practitioners; a coliving-company description of the village's character.
Notes
Day-to-day life centers on drop-in yoga classes (Ashtanga, Hatha, Vinyasa, Kundalini types are locally offered), cafés, and casual socializing rather than a formal wellness-industry infrastructure; the two 'anchor' institutions (Tushita and the Vipassana centre) are what give the village its distinct spiritual identity rather than a broad ecosystem of studios.

Genuine Local Traditions

  • Tushita Meditation Centre (Tibetan Mahayana Buddhism)
    Sourcing Basis
    Wikipedia entry on Tushita Meditation Centre; Tushita's own official site (tushita.info); independent travel-account corroboration.
    Practice Offered
    Ongoing residential 'Introduction to Buddhism' courses (commonly ~10 days), shorter 5-day courses, daily drop-in guided meditation, pujas, and a meditation library.
    Description
    Tushita is one of the most genuinely place-specific spiritual institutions in Dharamkot. It was founded in 1972 when two Buddhist teachers bought an old colonial house on the hill above McLeod Ganj in Dharamkot village. The founders are commonly identified as Lama Thubten Yeshe and his student Lama Zopa Rinpoche, teaching from the Gelugpa lineage of Tibetan Buddhism, the same tradition followed by the Dalai Lama.
  • Vipassana Centre (Dhamma Sikhara), Near Dharamkot
    Sourcing Basis
    Multiple independent travel accounts describing the centre by name (Dhamma Sikhara/Shikara) plus consistent course-structure descriptions; this format matches the globally standardized, verifiable Goenka Vipassana tradition rather than an invented local claim.
    Practice Offered
    Ten-day silent residential Vipassana courses, donation-based (no set fee).
    Description
    A dedicated Vipassana meditation centre sits close to Tushita on the hill above Dharamkot, running the classic ten-day silent Vipassana courses in the S.N. Goenka tradition (no phones, no reading, no talking, two simple meals a day).
  • Proximity to the Dalai Lama's Temple and Tibetan Exile Community in McLeod Ganj
    Sourcing Basis
    Independent travel-account describing teaching frequency; corroborated by Tushita's own site noting it does not host these events itself but treats the temple as a key nearby draw.
    Description
    Dharamkot sits directly above McLeod Ganj, the seat-in-exile of the 14th Dalai Lama since 1959 and headquarters of the Tibetan government-in-exile, sometimes called 'Little Lhasa.' The Dalai Lama gives public teachings at his main temple a few times a year, open and free to the public, and this draws meditation practitioners up into Dharamkot before or after attending.

Yoga Studios And Schools

  • Kunal Yoga School
    Type
    yoga studio / residential teacher training school
    Location
    Dharamkot village
    Breathwork Offered
    Pranayama is incorporated into the teacher training curriculum

    Styles Taught

    • Hatha
    • Iyengar-influenced alignment work

    Teacher Training

    Schedule
    Runs monthly from April to October
    Available
    Yes
    Certifying Body
    Yoga Alliance (school-stated; not independently confirmed on Yoga Alliance's own registry)
    Notes
    Single studio fitted with Iyengar-style props and hanging belts, capacity ~12 students, on-site residential accommodation and vegetarian kitchen

    Programs

    • 200hr
    • 300hr
    • 500hr
  • Universal Yoga Center (Vijay Power Yoga)
    Type
    yoga studio / residential teacher training school
    Location
    Dharamkot village
    Breathwork Offered
    Pranayama included as part of multi-style curriculum

    Styles Taught

    • Hatha
    • Iyengar
    • Power Yoga
    • Ashtanga Vinyasa

    Teacher Training

    Schedule
    Held monthly from April to October
    Available
    Yes
    Certifying Body
    Yoga Alliance-certified (per school)
    Notes
    Longstanding school (30+ years in the area), led by teacher Vijay Amar; hall capacity up to 50; fully residential with shared or single rooms and 3 meals/day

    Programs

    • 200hr
    • 300hr
    • 500hr
  • Kailash Tribal Yoga School
    Type
    yoga studio / teacher training school
    Location
    Dharamkot village
    Breathwork Offered
    Not specifically detailed in available sourcing

    Styles Taught

    • General hatha-based multi-style yoga (specific style breakdown not detailed on source)

    Teacher Training

    Schedule
    Running since 2000
    Available
    Yes
    Certifying Body
    Yoga Alliance USA-certified (per school)
    Notes
    Small group sizes, led by teacher Yogi Sivadas

    Programs

    • Not specified by hour-count in available sourcing — described generally as yoga teacher training courses
  • Shivam Neelkant Yoga Kendra
    Type
    yoga studio / teacher training school
    Location
    Upper Bhagsu area, near Dharamkot / McLeod Ganj
    Breathwork Offered
    Pranayama integrated into Kundalini-focused curriculum

    Styles Taught

    • Kundalini Kriya
    • chakra-system work
    • Vedic philosophy-based practice

    Teacher Training

    Schedule
    Not specified
    Available
    Yes
    Certifying Body
    Not independently confirmed — marketing copy is promotional in tone and should be verified directly before booking
    Notes
    Includes ritual practices such as Pooja alongside asana/pranayama training

    Programs

    • 200hr
    • 300hr
  • Swaastik Yog School — Dharamkot Campus
    Type
    yoga studio / residential retreat and teacher training center
    Location
    Forest campus in the Dhauladhar mountains above McLeod Ganj (Dharamkot)
    Breathwork Offered
    Sound Healing sessions offered alongside standard pranayama practice

    Styles Taught

    • Multi-style hatha-based curriculum; also Aerial Yoga

    Teacher Training

    Schedule
    Dharamkot season runs roughly April to November; programs relocate to the school's Rishikesh campus in winter
    Available
    Yes
    Certifying Body
    Yoga Alliance-registered (per school)
    Notes
    Also offers shorter 3, 5 and 7-day yoga retreats alongside full teacher trainings; drop-in daily classes available

    Programs

    • 100hr
    • 200hr
    • 300hr
    • 500hr

Meditation And Ashram Centers

  • Dhamma Sikhara (Himachal Vipassana Centre)
    Cost
    No fixed fee — courses are run on a dana (voluntary donation) basis, with no charge even for food or accommodation
    Type
    residential Vipassana meditation centre
    Format
    10-day silent residential courses (also occasional Satipatthana Sutta courses)
    Location
    Adjacent to Dharamkot village, in deodar cedar forest at roughly 2,000m
    Tradition
    Vipassana meditation in the Sayagyi U Ba Khin / S.N. Goenka tradition
    Breathwork Offered
    Anapana (breath-awareness meditation) is taught as a foundational technique before Vipassana proper
    Notes
    Dormitory-style accommodation with shared bathrooms; advance registration required as courses fill up; strict noble-silence discipline throughout the 10 days
  • Tushita Meditation Centre
    Cost
    Course fees vary by program (charged, not free); daily drop-in meditation is by donation
    Type
    Tibetan Buddhist study and meditation centre (FPMT-affiliated)
    Format
    Multi-day 'Introduction to Buddhism' residential courses, intermediate-level courses, group meditation retreats, and daily drop-in guided meditation sessions
    Location
    Forested hillside on the Dharamkot road, roughly a 15–20 minute walk from McLeod Ganj / 5 minutes from Dharamkot village
    Tradition
    Tibetan Mahayana Buddhism
    Breathwork Offered
    Meditation instruction is primarily Buddhist analytical/calm-abiding meditation rather than pranayama-style breathwork
    Notes
    Simple, basic dorm-style accommodation is included with courses; bring your own sleeping bag as it gets cold at altitude
AI-generated estimateData refreshed September 2026

This section has no cited sources.

Data last updated September 2026 · Verify anything important.